Ok

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies. Ces derniers assurent le bon fonctionnement de nos services. En savoir plus.

08/11/2011

The Challenge of Thor

The Challenge of Thor

 

I am the God Thor,
I am the War God,
I am the Thunderer !
Here in my Northland, 
My fastness and fortress, 
Reign I forever !

 

Here amid icebergs 
Rule I the nations ; 
This is my hammer, 
Miölner the mighty; 
Giants and sorcerers 
Cannot withstand it !

 

These are the gauntlets 
Wherewith I wield it, 
And hurl it afar off ; 
This is my girdle ; 
Whenever I brace it, 
Strength is redoubled !

 

The light thou beholdest
Stream through the heavens,
In flashes of crimson,
Is but my red beard 
Blown by the night-wind, 
Affrighting the nations ! 
Jove is my brother ; 
Mine eyes are the lightning; 
The wheels of my chariot 
Roll in the thunder, 
The blows of my hammer 
Ring in the earthquake !

 

Force rules the world still,
Has ruled it, shall rule it ;
Meekness is weakness,
Strength is triumphant,
Over the whole earth
Still is it Thor's-Day !

 

Thou art a God too, 
O Galilean ! 
And thus singled-handed 
Unto the combat, 
Gauntlet or Gospel, 
Here I defy thee !

 

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

( 1807 – 1882 )

thor,paganisme,poésie,henry wadsworth longfellow

Les commentaires sont fermés.